Skyline High School
"The First Magnet"

Skyline was the first high school in the United States to offer a magnet school curriculum.

In the mid-1960's, B. J. Stamps and other Dallas educators conceived the idea of a very large high school for the Dallas Independent School District that would offer career education in addition to a traditional high school curriculum. Stamps emphasized continually that the facility he envisioned was "absolutely not going to be a vocational school for unsuccessful students" but rather a place where superior students could undertake studies in preparation for a variety of professions.

In December 1966, architectural plans for the school, whose working name was "Science-Technical Center," were approved by the Dallas School Board. By 1969, Stamps, who had been slated as the school's first principal, suggested the name "Skyline High School," inspired by the view of the Downtown Dallas skyline afforded from the school's upper floors, and in February 1970 the Skyline name was approved by the School Board.

From its inception, Skyline has fulfilled Stamps's original conception of offering both a regular high school curriculum and a multitude of magnet school programs. The magnet offerings are organized as clusters, which are collectively called the Career Development Center.

Currently, the school has 19 clusters, named as follows:

  • Advanced Mathematics
  • Advanced Science
  • Advanced Social Science
  • Aeronautics
  • Architecture
  • Audio-Video Technology
  • Building Technology
  • Child Care
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary Arts
  • EcoTech
  • Fashion Production/ Marketing
  • Graphic Design &
  • Interior Design
  • Photography
  • Printing and Imaging
  • Transportation
  • Travel and Tourism
  • World Languages